TEA. A Love Affair.

I have always loved tea.

Growing up in the South, iced tea is generally part of daily existence.

Iced Sweet tea, Iced Green Tea, Iced Peach Tea, Iced Passionfruit Tea…the varieties are endless.

I’ve never really gotten into hot tea as much (aside from wintry days where my throat is highly unhappy).

A few years ago I stumbled upon Teavana in the Green Hills Mall and developed a very serious crush with the place.

http://www.teavana.com

X01%2009%2008%2012_d

But they are SO EXPENSIVE. And they try to up-sell you to death.
It got to the point where I didn’t even want to make eye contact with the sales associates when I went into the store.
They also don’t tell you that the canisters they put the tea in cost extra (or at least failed to mention that to me any of the 50 times I bought tea).
And some of the “teas” don’t even contain tea at all. Just sweetened dried fruit & flowers…but they still call it “TEA”.
(Is there not a rule against this)?

gan_click

Anyway, I still love tea.

To be more accurate, I’m pretty much obsessed with hot tea since I moved to the UK.
Specifically Earl Grey.

At first, it’s a little weird that everyone is always going on and on about having a “cuppa” tea all the damn time.
But I quickly realized that I had never had Earl Grey tea with milk & sugar before.

MY BRAIN——-> WAIT A MINUTE! THIS IS EFFING STELLAR!

A hot cup of tea can fix your soul.

PA225911

Part of the joy of tea is the ceremony…

photo

And adorable china…

PA225910

And having a hot tea date…

PA225914

I can’t stop drinking it. I crave it!
I have even been using agave syrup and soy milk to be healthier.
It has fully replaced coffee in my life.
I know…THAT’S CRAZY TALK!

PA225868

I order it everywhere we go.
PA225872

I just can’t help myself.

PA225884

And people here even drink it alongside their meals. Even with cheeseburgers!
(By the way, I ate a cheeseburger the other day and it was phenomenally delicious).

See? DELICIOUS!

PA225890

So, long story short, tea is important. Drink it and feel better.

Now, how about I leave you with some spectacular street art from my travels around Brick Lane in London?

PA225896

PA225897

PA225902

PA225904

PA225903

PA225905

PA225906

And of course, lest you forget…The Beginning is Nigh!

PA225909_2

7 thoughts on “TEA. A Love Affair.

  1. Karen October 29, 2011 / 12:30 AM

    I love Earl Grey Tea and drink it every morning. Growing up in the south (Texas), I drink mine with lemon and sugar. I know that I am in a minority with the English and many others that drink tea with milk but I guess it’s part of my southern background.

    • gimmeyummy October 29, 2011 / 11:14 PM

      I’m seriously on my 5th cup of Earl Grey today. Someone plan an intervention please.

  2. Just A Smidgen October 29, 2011 / 4:56 PM

    I grew up in the North (Canada, eh), so hot tea it is and always has been. Red Rose because it sounded British. But since “growing up” I now prefer Earl Grey.. but never with Cheeseburgers! I’ll have to try it some time!

    • gimmeyummy October 29, 2011 / 11:14 PM

      Red Rose? Do tell! What’s that all about?

  3. gabrj February 9, 2012 / 6:46 AM

    I just stumbled across your blog. Ironically I have just discovered the wonder that is Earl Grey tea. I crave it all the time and have quit coffee. Very bizarre for me – a former hardcore coffee junkie! I’ve absolutely adored following your wonderful photos which remind me of the lovely trip I had in the U.K. over 10 years ago. It really is a magical and inspiring place. You capture it so well in your photos!

    • gimmeyummy February 9, 2012 / 9:00 AM

      Yay!!! More converts! Earl Grey is King! I had coffee yesterday and I swear I’m still wired.

Comments are closed.