Grouse House Bed and Breakfast Edinburgh

How have I lived this long and not ONLY stayed in bed & breakfasts when I travel?

Somehow I had it in my head that they were these weird old musty houses with green shag carpeting stocked with uber creepy victorian doll collections.
I don’t need some demon doll glaring at me in its crocheted doily dress as I chow down on my cornflakes the next morning.

Not my idea of R&R.

Are they not strictly for couples going away to have a zen weekend to fix some personal issues and sleep in all day?

Apparently you can just stay in them like regular hotels, except for the fact that they are adorable and cozy and don’t charge you for every little thing.

WHO KNEW? AND WHY DID YOU KEEP THIS FROM ME?

Grouse House is sort of the champion of the B&B. No really. It is.

The ideal that all other B&B’s should model themselves after.

P1277669

Pretty much every little detail you could dream up, the owner Dean has already got sorted out for you.

P1277643

And he’s actually a NICE person.
He’ll talk to you and give you sound advice on where to go and what to avoid while you are visiting and really mean it!

And the rooms are decorated with charm and modern style.
No crappy wallpaper, no pink carpeting from 1983.

P1277635

Warm and inviting with tons of character and whimsy. Without being cutesy.
Just clean and calm and CHILL.

P1277605

P1277607

Dean was nice enough to let me poke around and take photos the morning that we checked out.

P1277634

(After the biggest most spectacular breakfast accompanied by awesome tunes and candles glowing on the hearth!)

P1277613

P1277656

EVERY Bathroom should have room spray. Period. End of discussion. Dean knows!

P1277645

P1277644

P1277641

P1277648

The dining room is incredibly beautiful and peaceful.
Grab a seat, have a cup of coffee.
R-E-L-A-X.

P1277627

P1277617

P1277618

P1277619

P1277622

P1277612

P1277615

P1277661

If you ever find yourself in need of the best sleep of your life, the friendliest B&B host, the heartiest breakfast, and the hottest shower you have ever taken…look no further my friends…mystery solved!

http://www.edinburghsgrousehouse.co.uk/index.html

Til we meet again Grouse House! Keep making people happy! xx

3 thoughts on “Grouse House Bed and Breakfast Edinburgh

  1. mcolmo April 14, 2012 / 11:54 PM

    Now I know where to stay when I go to Edinburgh! 🙂

  2. Rea Frey April 18, 2012 / 2:00 PM

    I seriously almost melted – I would do ANYTHING to be in such a place right now!!!!!!!! That’s one of the nicest ones I’ve seen. Must put it on the list for sure! 🙂

  3. Mariel May 10, 2012 / 1:32 AM

    I hadn’t stayed in a B&B until traveling to Scotland as well (Edinburgh and the Highlands). And, like you, I was pleasantly surprised. The owners were all so accommodating, and the rooms were clean and charming. Such a great alternative to hotels, especially in the UK.

Comments are closed.